La Vie à Lyon

Living, learning and loving in Lyon !

Happy New Year

Yes yes, it’s February (almost March !) but I did start writing this post in January – I promise ! I know it’s cliché, but I can’t believe how fast 2013 went. Here’s a little post about the year that was.

We welcomed 2013 in Grenoble with Seb and Clo, Ludo and Louise, and a rabbit named Mojitos. I started job hunting and was successful – I got a post teaching CE1 English, to start in March.

I was thrown in the deep end at school in February, filling in for the CE2 teacher who’d broken her ribs. I kept all my tutoring hours on top of my new work schedule and wound up run down with the flu, just in time for the holidays !

In March, we welcomed baby Luce into the world, and Sim became her godfather. I started teaching my own grade, and was flat out getting my classroom set up and routines in place. I moved all my tutoring sessions to Saturday, and really didn’t have much time for anything else !

In April I blew out 34 candles and had school holidays. We took a hot trip down South, and began the Parc de la Tête d’Or picnic season.

May was unseasonably cold, and we even had a tiny bit of snow on Clo’s hen’s day. I officially became a godmother at Léo’s bapteme, and made my French public speaking debut at the church. There were several public holidays, and Sim and I bid au revoir to Oullins and bonjour to Francheville.

In June, Mum and Dad came to visit. They stayed for a couple of weeks and they had fun at Seb and Clo’s wedding, in Nîmes, at the Fête de la Musique and at my school’s Fête de l’Ecole. School finished for the summer (just after our school camp), and Knacki came to live with us.

July was quiet and hot. We watched le Tour, and even went to see the riders pass by. We had many apéros on our little balcony, and many bottles of rosé were consumed !

August was more of the same. We spent a week house sitting in Rioz, and I spent four days in Paris with and old, dear friend.

The beginning of September was la rentrée, and school got off to good start. So good and so busy, in fact, that I stopped writing my blog ! My school hours were different (that means I did NOT continue supervising études after school !) and I spread my tutoring hours out during the week.

In October, one of my best friends came to visit and I showed off lovely Lyon. Sim and I had a mid week trip to Grenoble and Aix les Bains, and we also spent time in Rioz with the nephews.

November saw Lyon’s first (and – dare I say it – only) snow for the season, and we snuggled down. It was a quiet month, with the monotony of work being broken up with some fun birthday parties and dinners with friends and colleagues. We celebrated our 1 year PACS anniversary.

Lyon was a madhouse in December during the Fête des Lumières, which was beautiful as usual. The highlight though, was going home to Australia for two wonderful weeks ! I spent Christmas and New Year’s at the beach, with my family and friends. It’s been far too long since I’ve done that, and my New Year’s resolution is not to leave it so long between drinks again !

Bisous, and all the very best for 2014 !

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Happy New Year

  1. Silvtraj on said:

    Hi Jayde,

    Its always wonderful catching up with you via your blog. 😀 

    Just letting you know I deleted my fb the other week…wasnt using it as much….so Id love to hear from you on my email.

    Its wonderful to see you are fully emersed into the french language and are able to speak to bigger groups. Thats awesome 😀 

    Im so sad that I didnt come to Foster when you were down. Would have loved to see you. Geoff and Heather are at my place at the moment. Theyre visiting after 2 years…well in my 3rd of being in Geelong.  Love life is going great…everything is great. 🙂 Ive got a class of 12thisyear 8 grade 3s and 4 grade 4s. I didnt really enjoy my school year last year! So much better in 2014. Thank goodness. Cos otherwise I wldve been looking for another profession hehe

    Is France a permanent home now or any chance of you and Simon coming to live in Aus? 

    Id love to say plans in travel..but cant afford it atm…btwn a mortgage and bills Im pretty broke these days! 😦

    Hope to hear from you soon.

    Love Silvana

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

Leave a Reply

