La Vie à Lyon

Living, learning and loving in Lyon !

My vie quotidienne

How things have changed this year!

I’ve gone from the full-time student life to the full-time working life in the blink of an eye. This is my daily life now, or ma vie quotidienne.

I get up around quarter to seven, faff around and leave the house at quarter to eight to catch the 8:04 bus down at the bridge (unless I have the car, then I leave around 8).  I have a 15 to 20 minute bus ride, depending on the traffic (though Lyonnais/e bus drivers are pretty good at pushing cars out of their way, and are usually on time !), then a short but very steep walk to school.

Getting ready for the hill !

Getting ready for the hill !

I arrive, pick up my canteen register from the office and deposit my stuff in my room. I wet my blackboard sponge and fill up my drink bottle, say hello to the English teachers and kiss the French teachers.

The bell rings at 8:50, and the school day begins.

The morning schedule goes something like this: registration, day/date/weather discussion and handwriting, poetry, vocabulary activities, recess (10:15 – 10:35), more vocabulary activites, listening and comprehension activities and a quick game to finish up.

My little Frenchies hard at it !

My little Frenchies hard at it !

I have canteen duty (12:00 – 1:00) twice a week, and yard duty (1:00 – 2:00) twice a week. Canteen days I eat after the kids, by myself, relishing the silence ! Yard duty days, I eat with the other teachers, stealing glances out the window and praying that it won’t rain !

One of many delicious school lunches.

One of many delicious school lunches.

The afternoon session starts at 2, and follows the same timetable as the morning session. The kids who were with me in the morning head off to the French half of their day, and the kids who had French in the morning come to me.  They have a snack at recess (3:15 – 3:35), and we pack up to go at ten to five.

The anglophone teachers have door duty every day, from ten to until ten past five. We greet the parents, make sure they are who they say they are, and send the kids home.

I have study hall duty four times a week, from 5:30 until 6:30, supervising the kids who stay at school to do their homework. Most of them finish by 6, so they can play a quiet game, read, draw and sometimes, if I’m feeling generous and they’ve been good, I take them outside for some extra playtime. At 6:30, they head off to garderie.

The school closes at 7. If I have the car, I head home any time after 6:30. If not, I usually hang around until 7 and get a lift home with Laurianne,  who supervises the kids until 7 and who lives in the building behind me. Handy !

It’s a change alright, but one that I’m enjoying !

Bisous !

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “My vie quotidienne

  1. Silvana on said:

    Wow. It was interesting reading your post about teaching in France. Thats a very long day…but Im sure youre used to it now.
    Glad you are enjoying teaching your Frenchies hehe as you refer to them 🙂

  2. Thanks for reading Silv. Yes, I’m used to it but I’ll be changing my after-school hours next year so as to do a bit of private tutoring. At the moment I do that all day Saturday, so it makes for a very busy week ! Thank goodness for all the holidays in France 😉

Leave a Reply

