La Vie à Lyon

Living, learning and loving in Lyon !

The next step

I’ve decided that this semester is going to be my last one with the CIEF. It’s been great, and I would never have progressed to the level I’m at without my three semesters there, but it’s time for the next step of my life in Lyon. Working !

Now that Sim and I are PACSed, and we’ve lived together in France for over 12 months, I can change my resident status from visiteur to vie privée et familiale, which automatically gives me the right to work. Unfortunately, the changeover itself isn’t automatic, and I have to pay another visit to the préfecture to get the ball rolling.

Here’s what I need to take with me:

  • Sim – yep, this one we have to do together !
  • 4 passport photos, less than 6 months old,
  • valid passport,
  • current resident card,
  • French translation of my bith certificate, less than 6 months old,
  • copies of bills/lease agreement to prove that we live where we live,
  • the receipt from the registration of our PACS, and
  • bank statements/bills/pay slips/other documents on a monthly basis to prove that we live where we live and have done so, together, for 12 months or more.

Whew ! Now, as they require originals and photocopies of everything, I hope you’ll excuse me – I have to go and get the photocopier warmed up ! Wonder if Sim will fit ?

Bisous !

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The next step

  1. U can do it! Whooo hooooo.

  2. Silvana on said:

    Wow. Where has the time gone? You have lots to do indeed….will you be working at a ps teaching english or teaching adults?
    Sounds like youre having an amazing time….s the plan is to stay in France? is that indefinetely?
    Ive moved into my house that I bought in Geelong. Love it! And ive been made ongoing at my new school. so happy 🙂
    Miss you,
    Love Silvana xx

    • Hi Silv !
      I don’t know yet – I’d love to work at an international school, but I’m interested in tourism too ! We’ll see what comes up !
      Great to hear all your good news, and that you are happy 🙂
      Thanks for reading xoxox

Leave a Reply

