La Vie à Lyon

Living, learning and loving in Lyon !

Year of the…escargot

I’m lucky to have met some lovely Chinese people through my course and on Sunday, I was invited to dinner at Xiaofei’s place to celebrate the Chinese New Year. I’ve never been to a CNY celebration before, and I learnt that NYE differs depending on where in China one’s from. For Xiaofei, Sunday was ‘December 29,’ but for Stephanie it was ‘December 31.’

The dinner was a fun mix of Chinese meets French – tofu with Kronenbourg, eating baguette with baguettes (chopsticks) and cooking bean curd sticks on the pierreade. Plus my clumsy dumplings!

Mmmm, dumplings. Can you tell which ones I made?

Spot the French product!

Nom nom nom.

They don’t speak much English (with the exception of Stephanie, who’s from Hong Kong), I don’t speak any Chinese and none of us speak French very well! But we all speak eat, drink and be merry, so that’s what we did!

Happy New Year!

Bisous!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

