La Vie à Lyon

Living, learning and loving in Lyon !

Tales from the other side of the desk

I’m studying French for a year, at the CIEF – Centre International d’Etudes Françaises, a language school at the Université Lumière Lyon 2. I’m doing a semi-intensive course, 4 hours per day, Monday to Friday. Oh excuse me, Lundi au Vendredi…

My Semester 1 timetable looks like this:

Mon: 8 – 12 with Jean-Yves (how French is that!)

Tue : 2 – 6 with Muriel

Wed: 8 – 12 with Jean-Yves

Thu: 2 – 6 with Muriel

Fri: 2 – 6 with Laurianne

I’m in Group A1 (prep, really!) with 13 others from all around the globe – China, South Korea, Japan, Norway, Mexico, USA, Algeria and Bulgaria. We’ve learnt the alphabet, numbers up to 100 and how to spell our names. Seriously!

Of course, we’re learning a lot more than that – greetings, questions, adjectives, positive/negative sentences, and the dreaded conjugations! Something I’d not realised was how lucky I am that my first language uses the same alphabet as the French language. It’s harder for those that have a different alphabet.

More about life on the other side of the desk in later posts!

Bisous!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Tales from the other side of the desk

  1. Silvana on said:

    I’m sure you will be teaching me some French when you get back. You’ll have to come to Geelong though 🙂

Leave a Reply

